Flame and Frost: The Gathering Storm Announced

With ArenaNet's latest update being in a Guild just got better

With ArenaNet’s latest update being in a Guild just got better!

So yesterday I did a 6 months later review of Guild Wars 2, in the review I brought out one area of the game that I have not touched and had zero interest in PvP. Now when I say PvP( player versus player )I do not mean WvWvW, which yes is not considered PvP but it is in my mind, I’m talking about the team battles on maps like Temple of the Silent Storm. Anyway ArenaNet announced the next stage in the four-part event Flame and Frost, part two is named the Gatheringg Storm and the PvP has piqued my interest. They will be introducing two team rated PvP, this mode pits teams of equal average rating against one another so this I like I can go into this mode and not fear getting demolished by more experienced PvP players, along with that the new map The Spirit Watch seems to have a type of capture the flag mechanic where you can gain extra points by “capturing the Orb of Ascension and running it to any of the three shrines on this newest PvP map”. It’s nice to see some diversity with their game modes and their systems, which leads me to the next thing game designer Tyler  Bearce announced that they are indeed working on the new matchmaking system( currently testing it ), no date was given on its arrival but I’m glad to know that it’s in motion. With just these changes to PvP I’m more interested in the game mode and will be checking it out now.

Along with the PvP information the new “Guild Missions” will be a part of this patch. This is something I have been looking forward to and wanting for quite some time. These missions will be about “coordinated group play, include everything from bounties to group puzzles to cross country challenges” this is exciting for my guild as we’re always looking to do something in game and this will only add to our activities and to top it all off by completing these Guild Missions your Guild is rewarded with “Merits” which can unlock rewards and upgrades.

These guys will be happy about the Guild Missions!

These guys will be happy about the Guild Missions!

Lastly we will now have a system in place that will allow us to pick our own dailies which will be nice for the players that seem to have issues with things like Daily Dodge( I don’t get it it’s extremely easy to complete )so hopefully that will lead to less QQ about dailies. All in all it looks to be a good update especially for the PvPers and Guilds! I’ll leave a link to the official announcement page for your viewing.

https://www.guildwars2.com/en/the-game/releases/february-2013/

Leave a Reply

